jump to navigation

February 2012 February 7, 2012

Posted by uwmathlib in Collection Moves, Databases, ebooks, Journals, Scholarly Communications.
Tags: ,
add a comment

Math Research Library Flips!

We have begun our project to move almost all math/stat books from Math Storage to our main collection, and, in turn, move all journals to Math Storage.  The books will flow in call number order from A to Z, main floor to upper floor.  Reuniting our book collection should make user browsing easier and will bring back immediate access to hundreds of classic titles.

Since the majority of our journals are now online, the paper volumes are used less and less.  Thus the decision was made to store all math/stat journals in Math Storage in call number order.  Anytime a paper volume is needed, though, don’t hesitate to ask for it.  Requesting volumes thru the catalog or via email ahead of your trip to MRL is a convenient way to get these materials.  MRL staff will retrieve on demand as staffing allows.  We usually go several times a day.

We will try to concentrate the louder activities involved with this move to the morning hours when fewer patrons are in the library.  We hope to finish this project mid-Spring 2012.

Mathematicians Protest Scholarly Journal Publishing

As you may be aware, a recent Timothy Gowers blog on commercial journal publishing problems ignited a protest joined by thousands of other academics.  You can follow the conversations and activities by exploring the links in our Scholarly Publishing Issues box to the right.

Etext Pilot Could Save Students $$

UW Information Technology will be running an etext pilot beginning in spring quarter focused on providing low cost etextbooks in a collaborative teaching environment. The pilot is designed to enable both access to high quality digital educational resources (eTexts) and new tools for teaching and learning with those resources, including the ability to search, highlight, and annotate texts, collaborate, and interact. UW IT is currently seeking instructors to participate in the pilot. Two vendors gave demonstrations in December: Courseload and Coursesmart. The CourseLoad product is strong on collaboration and annotation tools. CourseSmart provides more options for access and more readily available textbook content. Given the differences in the two systems it was decided to pilot both systems.

As seen an Indiana University pilot, substantial cost savings are available to eText users. This helps to reduce the financial burden on students, and to increase access to course materials.  More information is available on the web at: http://www.washington.edu/itconnect/teach/etext.html.

New Research Resource: Scopus

Elsevier’s Scopus database is available to UW users on a trial basis for the remainder of 2012.  The UW Office of Research coordinated this subscription.  Continuing access will depend on evaluation and funding.  The access url is http://www.scopus.com.  You can also access it as a tab on the SciVerse platform which includes Science Direct journals.  It is also listed on our homepage under the Research Resources link.

Scopus is an abstract and citation database and a competitor to ISI’s Web of Science.  Scopus covers more than 18,000  journals, mostly in the sciences and social sciences.  Many use it for citation analysis purposes.  For supporting documentation, take a look at http://www.info.sciverse.com/resource-library/subject/sciverse-scopus.

October 13, 2011 October 13, 2011

Posted by uwmathlib in Databases, ebooks, How Do I?, Library Skills, MathSciNet, Scholarly Communications.
Tags: , , ,
add a comment


Welcome to the new academic year!

EBooks@UW Libraries:  Math & Stat

In addition to the thousands of volumes shelved in Math Research Library and elsewhere on campus, Math and Stat researchers have access to many ebooks in their disciplines.  Most math and stat ebooks can be found in these collections:

Springerlink–can download chapter PDFs, no use restrictions
SIAM EBooks–can download chapter PDFs, no use restrictions
EBL–chapter PDFs, use restrictions

The Libraries has put together a HOW DO I? web page full of handy hints such as:  How do I find electronic books available through UW Libraries?

UW researchers can access ebooks 24/7.  They are available remotely after logging in at  .  This button is located at the top of most UW Libraries webpages.

Applied Math students and faculty:  over 400 SIAM books are finally online for UW users. Here’s an Excel list of their holdings:

http://lib.washington.edu/math/SIAM92011.xlsx

You’ll find the fulltext at:  http://epubs.siam.org/ebooks/

↔↔

Scanner Now Available

All UW Libraries branch libraries now have at least one scanner available for public use.  These new scanners were funded by STF funds.  Ours is attached to MRL’s sit-down PC in the center of our main floor.  Users must log into this PC with their UWNetID.

↔↔

In response to requests from MathSciNet users and librarians, MathSciNet now offers tutorials on how to get the most out of searching. These tutorials treat each of the tabbed areas of MathSciNet—Publications, Authors, Journals, and Citations—as well as Free Tools and Preferences. The tutorials help users to take advantage of the rich structure of the databases underlying MathSciNet–most will find a feature or search of use that they have not previously used.

↔↔

Open Access Week banner

Sharing Ideas, Expanding Knowledge:
Open Access as a Scholarly Publishing Alternative

This exhibit marks International Open Access Week and is displayed in the Allen Library, North Lobby, Oct. 10-31, 2011.

Scholarly publishing is in a state of flux. While the book and journal remain the primary vehicles for communicating published scholarship, how their content is reviewed, packaged, paid for, distributed, discovered, accessed, and preserved has changed over the last few years and continues to change rapidly. Many traditions of scholarly publishing remain, but new options, driven by new technologies and changing economic models, are now available and are becoming increasingly accepted in the scholarly community.

We invite you to explore some of those options in this exhibit. We hope this content is informative, that it answers some questions while raising others, and that it brings to light some of the problems that the academic community faces in the current scholarly publishing environment.

↔↔

UW Libraries Research Commons

The UW Libraries Research Commons, located on the ground floor of the Allen Library South, has many spaces available for students and faculty to support group research, presentations, seminars, and colloquia.   The Research Commons opened a little less than one year ago, and is designed as an evolving, flexible space that fosters interdisciplinary conversation and provides research support via the Libraries and campus partnerships.

Check for events of interest: http://commons.lib.washington.edu/news-events

Graduate Student Workshops: In partnership with the Graduate School, the Libraries is kicking off a new year of graduate student workshops in the Research Commons.

Drop-in Writing Consultations: The Odegaard Writing and Research Center is now offering morning drop-in consultations in the Research Commons — for graduate students only — twice a week. Tutors staffing these consulting hours are experienced in supporting graduate level research and writing for a wide range of academic and professional purposes.  Autumn Quarter: Mondays and Thursdays 10:30am-noon. No reservations required. First-come, first served.

New Collaboration Screens: Student Technology Fee funds enabled us to add large screens, which can be used with your laptop:  http://commons.lib.washington.edu/resources

New Presentation Spaces: The Research Commons has undergone a few changes based on user feedback to better support large group research work and presentations.  We’ve added a new room, Green A, that seats up to 25 people:  http://commons.lib.washington.edu/resources/green-a/green-a .

Whiteboard Capture:  The Research Commons features whiteboard surface tables, mobile whiteboards, whiteboard walls and dry-erase markers for checkout.  We also have an EBeam Edge interactive whiteboard system that can be checked out and used within the Research Commons to turn any whiteboard surface into a digital and interactive copyboard.  Use the EBeam to create a video or image capture of a presentation, brainstorming session, or TA consultation in the Research Commons.

Interested in seeing your students’ work displayed in the space for a poster session or longer-term exhibit?  Contact uwlibrc@uw.edu.

Visit the Research Commons website http://commons.lib.washington.edu or  blog http://uwresearchcommons.wordpress.com/ to learn more about the development of the Research Commons.

July 2010 News July 29, 2010

Posted by uwmathlib in Databases, ebooks, News, survey.
Tags: , ,
add a comment

Statsnetbase Ebook Trial

Our subscription to the Statsnetbase collection of CRC/Taylor & Francis ebooks ended in March.   However, there is more purchase flexibility now so we are now considering selective purchase of past, present and future titles.  While the collection does not include textbooks, it does offer high-level titles of use to statisticians and researchers from a wide range of disciplines.    Please review their titles and content and try out the search interface at http://www.statsnetbase.com.  Send your comments to mathlib [at] uw.edu.  The trial runs until November 13, 2010.

Ebooks Advisory Survey

Math Research Library has provided you with 2 ebooks packages, Springer Math/Stat Ebooks and Statsnetbase, for the last few years.  We are at the point where we need to decide how to proceed.  I’ve posted a two question advisory survey intended to gather your opinion and comments about ebooks in this academic library.   Please click here to take the short survey.  This survey will be open through the end of the quarter.

Summer Tips from the Libraries

See answers to frequently asked questions at the Libraries, http://www.lib.washington.edu/about/summerTips.html

WorldWideScience.org

You can now find non-English scientific literature from databases in China, Russia, France, and several Latin American countries and have your search results translated into one of nine languages. With the beta launch in June, real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed collections of scientific literature is possible. This new capability is the result of an international public-private partnership between the WorldWideScience.org Alliance and Microsoft Research, whose translation technology has been paired with the federated searching technology of Deep Web Technologies.

WorldWideScience.org now provides federated searching of  national scientific databases in 65 countries, covering some 400 million pages of science. In addition to other WorldWideScience Alliance members, key partner organizations taking part in the ceremony included the Russian Academy of Sciences, the Chinese Ministry of Science and Technology (Institute of Scientific and Technical Information of China), and ICSTI.